Vista Explorer Crashes

I’ve been having trouble with Vista (build 5536 right now);  Explorer often becomes unresponsive when accessing network shares.  In one case, it bluescreened!

In my case, I stash downloaded files on a share on my SBS box, since it has the DLT tape and it’s backed up weekly.

Glad I’m not the only one with this problem!  I’m dismayed that Microsoft didn’t give us enough time to uncover this before they released RC1.  Also, SMB is very fundamental even to ordinary Windows operation (you open a share every time you log on to a domain), why wasn’t this found earlier?

(Obligatory snarky answer:  Because Beta 2 ran so slowly how could you tell the difference!" Cue rimshot)

Take care,

Dave

Leave a Reply

