Fixing 1202 “Security policies were propagated with warning” errors after a restore

 

I recently had to restore my brand new Tyan machine from backup, when I inadvertently broke the RAID 1 array on it.  (Of all the RAID systems I’ve used, Ciprico’s, which the Tyan has on-board, is the most opaque to me, or so it seems.)

Every time I do a restore, I always seem to break more and more things, despite doing what I thought were best practices (install Windows, install drivers, update to Service Pack 2 and then restore with NTBackup.)

This time I’m getting errors from SceCli: 1202, "Security policies were propagated with warning".

This blog, MPECS Inc. Blog: SBS 2K3 – Group Policy computer settings not applied, had the solution:

From a command prompt do:

esentutl /p %windir%\security\database\secedit.sdb

If you’re using Powershell, this is:

esentutl /p $env:windir\security\database\secedit.sdb

It’ll ask you to confirm that you want to run it.  Click OK.

If you have ever used edbutil in Exchange to fix databases, you should find this familiar.  As soon as it tells you the database is repaired do:

gpupdate /force

Answer N when it asks you "OK to Logoff".  Open Event Viewer and confirm that you get an informational message from SceCli, "Security Policies are applied successfully".

Hat tip to Philip E.!

Leave a Reply

