Fixing Exchange WMI errors after a restore

I use my personal SBS box for testing and I am aggressive about trying new patches, software and configurations, things that I could not try at SATV, things that most SBS consultants would not do to their clients.

So, I do lots of bare metal restores.   There are always errors in the logs afterwards.  Always.  I’m sick of putting error codes in a search engine, so I’m blogging the ones I’ve resolved so I don’t have to use the search box so often!

It’s common for WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation) to be corrupted or miss entries in its database after a restore.  This affects Exchange in the following ways: 

  • The Exchange System Manager may fail with error 0x80041010 .
  • You may receive event 9098 from MSExchangeSA, "The MAD Monitoring thread was unable to read its configuration from the DS, error ‘0x80041010’."  This may be logged every five minutes.

Do this from a command prompt:

MOFCOMP.EXE -N:root\cimv2\applications\exchange wbemcons.mof
MOFCOMP.EXE -N:root\cimv2\applications\exchange exwmi.mof
MOFCOMP.EXE -N:root\cimv2\applications\exchange exmgmt.mof
MOFCOMP.EXE -N:root\cimv2\applications\exchange msgtrk.mof
MOFCOMP.EXE -N:root\cimv2\applications\exchange smtpcons.mof
 

Wait 5 minutes and verify that the 9098 events don’t reappear.

Leave a Reply

