Vantec NexStar 3 enclosures don’t like some Intel boards

I’m all-AMD at my personal office, but we are a Dell shop at SATV, so this item from Philip got my attention.

I was in the market for enclosures recently and I settled on the Vantec NexStar 3.  It is a dual-interface 3.5"-disk enclosure with USB and eSATA.  Both my machines have eSATA ports so this was a good choice.

Philip had the worst thing happen (other than smoke) when connecting a new device to his server–lockup!  He has a ticket open with Vantec.  A point he made is that the newest revision of the Vantec is the one with problems. 

I’ve had no trouble with my Vantec, but unfortunately, it’s also the new revision.  I’d love to test it at SATV but my external drives are all tied up with backups.

Source:  MPECS Inc. Blog: New Vantec NexStar 3 version does not like S3000AH Intel Boards

Leave a Reply

